The Bruce and Hilde Howden American Commissioning Project

Through the generosity of Hilde Howden and the Bruce E. Howden American Composers Project, Music from Angel Fire has created an enviable commissioning history that rivals major international festivals. Each year, Music from Angel Fire invites an internationally renowned composer and a Young Artist Composer to each compose a work premiered at the festival. The Composer-in-Residence Program began in 1986, and the Young Artist Composer-in-Residence Program was initiated in 2005. As a result, Music from Angel Fire has commissioned and presented more than 45 world premieres in its 36-year history.

Music from Angel Fire has received national acclaim for its commissioning history from the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center. In February of 2016, OPUS ONE presented a special concert at Lincoln Center, performing four major works commissioned by Music from Angel Fire.


Marc Neikrug, Composer-in-Residence for 2024

Composer-in-Residence History

2024 Marc Neikrug
2023 Andy Akiho
2022 Stephen Prutsman
2021 Paul Wiancko
2020 Festival canceled due to Covid-19 Pandemic
2019 Richard Danielpour
2018 Andrea Clearfield
2017 Kenji Bunch
2016 Gabriela Lena Frank
2015 David Ludwig
2014 Bright Sheng
2013 Chick Corea
2012 Stephen Stucky
2011 Roberto Sierra

2010 Lowell Lieberman
2009 Augusta Read Thomas
2008 Joan Tower
2007 Marc Neikrug
2006 Michael Daugherty
2005 George Tsontakis
2004 Kevin Puts
2003 Previous composers wrote short pieces for anniversary: Adolphe, Fine, Greatbatch, Deak, Kernis, Coleman, Hartke, Singleton, Crockett, Higdon, Larson, Lowry
2002 Douglas Lowry
2001 Libby Larson
2000 Jennifer Higdon

1999 Donald Crockett
1998 Stephen Hartke
1997 Jon Deak
1996 Alvin Singleton
1995 Dan Coleman
1994 Bruce Adolphe
1993 Aaron Jay Kernis
1992 Jon Deak
1991  Timothy Greatbatch
1989  Vivian Fine
1988  Bruce Adolphe

Young Composer-in-Residence

2022 Elise Arancio
2021  Not selected
2020  Canceled due to COVID-19
2019  Dai Wei
2018  Not selected
2017  Nick DiBerardino
2016  Gabriella Smith

2015  Alyssa Weinberg
2014  Andrew Hsu
2013  Thomas Oltarzenski
2012  Daniel Temkin
2011  Michael Djupstrom
2010  Daniel Shapiro

2009  Chris Rogerson
2008  Christopher Weiss
2007  Ke-Chia Chen
2006  Sheridan Seyfried
2005  James Ra